FACEBOOK ANNUAL MEETING: Final Voting Tallies Filed In Form 8-K To SEC

Facebook Co-Founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg and Chief Operating Officer Sheryl Sandberg received the most withheld votes of the eight members of the social network’s board of directors that were re-elected at its annual meeting Tuesday, according to the Form 8-K Facebook filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission Thursday.

All eight directors were re-elected, all with 653,253,525 broker nonvotes and the following totals of for and withheld votes, respectively:

Other agenda items voted on at the annual meeting were:

  • A nonbinding advisory vote on the compensation program for the company’s named executive officers: 5,703,739,932 for, 404,097,340 against, 6,098,746 abstentions, 653,253,525 broker nonvotes.
  • A nonbinding advisory vote on whether a nonbinding advisory vote on the compensation program for the company’s named executive officers should be held every one, two, or three years: 5,558,676,699 for three years, 533,816,915 for one year, 14,888,902 for two years, 6,553,502 abstentions, 653,253,525 broker nonvotes.
  • The ratification of Ernst & Young as Facebook’s independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending Dec. 31, 2013: 6,633,359,880 for, 125,743,527 against, 8,086,136 abstentions.

Readers: Even though they were re-elected by wide margins, why do you think Zuckerberg and Sandberg fared so poorly in the voting?

Image courtesy of Shutterstock.

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Facebook Marketing

Facebook MarketingStarting Janaury 13, work with the group marketing manager of social media at Microsoft/BingAds to build a fan base and grow your business on Facebook! In this course, Geoffrey Colon will teach you how to set up and enhance your company page, understand best practices and measuring your success, execute a monthly content strategy, and incorporate Facebook into your overall marketing efforts. Register now!