Report: Optimal Times To Post On Facebook

What is the best time to post on Facebook? Consider your Facebook posting of links to share complete today at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT) — that is, if you want to maximize the number of clicks your content garners, according to a new report from link-shortening service Bit.ly.

Putting up fresh content after that time will put that content in front of fewer sets of eyes, Bit.ly said after tracking how its links are shared on Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr.

Bit.ly looked at how the “day and time something is posted affects the eventual amount of attention it receives,” and found:

  • The highest average click-throughs resulted from posting between 1 p.m. and 4 p.m. ET (10 a.m. and 1 p.m. PT).
  • Avoid posting before 8 a.m. ET (5 a.m. PT) and after 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT), as those are the times when content posted attracts the least attention.
  • Consider waiting until 11 a.m. ET (8 a.m. PT) to begin posting to Facebook, as that is when traffic starts revving up.
  • Traffic peaks midweek between 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. ET (10 a.m. and noon PT).
  • The most optimal time of the entire week to post Facebook content is Wednesday at 3 p.m. ET (noon PT).

It is interesting to note that for each of the three social networks monitored, different usage patterns emerged, presenting further proof that each social network has its own unique culture, and “different social networks have distinct personalities,” Bit.ly said.

For example, Friday evenings are apparently a worthwhile time to post links on Tumblr, while there is practically no use in doing so on Facebook or Twitter.

Thus, as much as content is king, putting a publishing schedule into place based on optimal clicking times may prove a worthwhile endeavor.

But is it safe to bet the farm on a publishing schedule? Twitter tools make it easy to schedule content publication. What Facebook tools or strategies work for you to schedule content?

Image courtesy of Shutterstock.

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Content Marketing 101

Content Marketing 101Almost 60% of businesses use some form of content marketing. Starting December 8, get hands-on content marketing training in our online boot camp! Through an interactive series of webcasts, content and marketing experts will teach you how to create, distribute, and measure the success of your brand's content. Register now!