Once users link their Dropbox and Facebook accounts, they can share documents, photos, and videos on groups’ walls, and, like other group posts, their content can be liked, shared, or commented on. If the content is edited at a later point, the group will receive a notification about the updated content.
Facebook initially rolled out file sharing for groups in May.
Sister blog Inside Facebook pointed out that documents within groups can be made public or available only to members, depending on the group’s original privacy setting, but public groups cannot make individual files members-only unless they reset the entire group to closed or private.
Dropbox Engineer Chris Varenhorst offered more details on his company’s integration with Facebook in a blog post:
Today we’re psyched to announce that you can share stuff from Dropbox right inside Facebook groups! Now you can share notes with your study group, add the latest game schedule to your basketball team’s group, or post a birthday video to your family’s group at lightning speed from wherever you are.
Just like other posts to Facebook groups, people can like or comment on anything you share from within the group. And if you make any edits to a file you’ve shared, the group will get an update automatically!
To share with your Facebook group, click “add file” on the group’s page.
Once you choose to link Facebook to your Dropbox account, you’ll be able to search through your Dropbox and select what you’d like to share. Docs, photos, and videos shared from Dropbox will show up on the group’s wall and can also be viewed on a smartphone or tablet.
For more info on how to use Dropbox and Facebook groups, check out our help center. We’ll start rolling out the feature today, so you should see it in your Facebook groups soon.
We’re excited about the awesome stuff you’ll create and share!
Readers: Will this be a useful feature for Facebook users who belong to groups on the social network?