Can You Take The Timeline Off Your Facebook Profile?

Before timeline went live, it was actually possible to undo an upgrade to this advanced profile: Uninstalling the Developer application from your Facebook account would remove the timeline. But now all of this has changed.

A spokesperson for Facebook explained in an email to us:

Once you click “Get Timeline,” you will have seven days to review everything that appears on your timeline before anyone else can see it.

If you choose, you can publish your timeline right away. If you decide to wait, your timeline will go live automatically after seven days. Your timeline will replace your profile.

Eventually everyone on Facebook will be rolled over to timeline.

Less technologically inclined users of Facebook have said they find timeline overwhelming. Complaints have followed nearly every upgrade the social network has ever made, and eventually people have simmered down after getting used to the changes.

But the timeline’s changes present a bigger learning curve than anything the site has ever done before, so let’s see what Facebook does to educate people about the advanced profile.

Readers, what are your friends saying about the timeline?

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Social Media Metrics

Social Media MetricsStarting September 4, work with a social media manager to monitor, measure and optimize your social media efforts! Danielle Brigida will teach you how to sift through web analytics, Facebook Insights, and Twitter mentions to develop a comprehensive reporting and tracking system for your brand. Register now!