Login With Facebook Update: Apps Must Now Separately Request Permission To Post On Behalf Of Users

Facebook users who are fed up with posts from applications cluttering their News Feeds will likely approve of the update to login with Facebook that was announced Thursday, as apps must now separately request permission from users to post on the social network on their behalf.

Facebook said in announcing the update that it enables users to take advantage of login with Facebook as a quick way to register with apps, adding that users always have the option of changing with they choose to share or not share.

The social network said login with Facebook now loads up to 31 percent faster via mobile and up to 16 percent faster via the Web following the update.

Facebook added in its announcement:

Although Facebook login is widely used, we understand people’s concerns about apps posting on their Timeline or to their friends. For the past several months, we’ve been rolling out a new version of Facebook login on mobile to address these concerns.

With this new update, mobile apps using Facebook login must now separately ask you for permission to post back to Facebook.

The social network also offered some related statistics, pointing out that users sign into apps via login with Facebook more than 850 million times each month, and adding that 81 of the top 100 grossing iOS apps and 62 of the top 100 grossing Android apps use login with Facebook.

In a post on its developer blog, Facebook highlighted steps taken by two apps, ride-sharing app Lyft and fundraising platform Kickstarter.

Engineering Manager Jeffrey Spehar shared the best practices used by the two highlighted apps:

  • Lyft asks for only the necessary permissions — public profile, email, and friends list — rather than excessive information that may seem extraneous to users.
  • Lyft uses a clearly branded button that shows the Facebook logo and uses “Facebook” in the button’s text.
  • Before people use Facebook login, Lyft reminds them that it will never post on people’s walls without their permission.

  • Before people use Facebook login, Kickstarter also reminds them that it will never post on their wall without their permission.
  • Kickstarter lets users try its app before logging in, building trust before asking them for their information.
  • Kickstarter doesn’t ask for write permissions upfront. Instead, it asks to share in context.

Readers: Do you think the update to login with Facebook will free you of a substantial amount of “app spam?”

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Marketing with Facebook Insights

Marketing with Facebook InsightsStarting October 2, learn how to use Facebook's analytics tool to track and optimize your marketing efforts! Taught by the group marketing manager of social media at Microsoft/BingAds, Geoffrey Colon will show you how insights works, how to measure key performance indicators, and make your data actionable. Register now!