WARNING: Beware Messages From Facebook Friends Claiming That Your Photos Are On Other Sites

OMGScamFakeTumblrBlog650Facebook users who receive messages from friends along the lines of, “OMG YOUR PHOTOS ARE BEING USED ON THIS SITE,” beware: It’s a scam.

Malwarebytes reported on the phishing scheme, saying that clicking the links directs users to fake Tumblr blogs, such as the one pictured above, which, in turn, lead to fake Facebook login pages, such as the one pictured below (note the URL on the fake Facebook login page).

OMGScamFakeFacebookLogin

Christopher Boyd of Malwarebytes wrote:

In this case, the scammers use some JavaScript to bounce the victim from a Tumblr spam blog to a fake Facebook login, which they’ll need to use to see the supposed photos.

Anybody filling in their details and hitting enter will of course have their user name and password sent to the attacker.

Readers: Have you seen any similar messages?

OMG image courtesy of Shutterstock. Screeshots courtesy of Malwarebytes.

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Social Media 201

Social Media 201Starting October 13, Social Media 201 picks up where Social Media 101 left off, to provide you with hands-on instruction for gaining likes, followers, retweets, favorites, pins, and engagement. Social media experts will teach you how to make social media marketing work for your bottom line and achieving your business goals. Register now!