Facebook Users Seeing ‘Privacy Checkup’ Popups

PrivacyCheckup1Facebook wants to know if you’ve checked your privacy settings recently, as some users are seeing popups reminding them to do so.

Sreedev Sharma of Sociobits shared the screenshots above and below of the popup he saw and the messages that followed, saying that the “Privacy Checkup” popup above appeared when he accessed Facebook, and it reads:

Hi Sreedev — Sorry to interrupt. You haven’t changed who can see your posts lately, so we just wanted to make sure you’re sharing this post with the right audience. (Your current setting is public, though you can change this whenever you post.) Learn more.

The bottom of the popup contains buttons for friends, public, and more options.

Clicking on “learn more” brought up the following message, under the headline, “Why am I seeing this?”:

Every time you post on Facebook you can decide who sees what you share. It looks like you haven’t changed who can see your posts in a while, so we’re just checking that your privacy is set the way you want. You’ll still able to change the audience any time you post something. If you’d like to learn more about setting privacy on your posts, visit the Help Center.

PrivacyCheckup2

Readers: Have you seen any of these Privacy Checkup messages?

PrivacyCheckup3

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Social Media 201

Social Media 201Starting October 13, Social Media 201 picks up where Social Media 101 left off, to provide you with hands-on instruction for gaining likes, followers, retweets, favorites, pins, and engagement. Social media experts will teach you how to make social media marketing work for your bottom line and achieving your business goals. Register now!