REPORT: Facebook Interaction Is Higher On Weekends

If you’re looking for sheer volume in terms of posts on top Facebook pages, Thursday is your day, but if interaction is your game, then start working for the weekend.

A recent study by Momentus Media analyzed approximately 50,000 posts from the top 14,000 Facebook pages and found that the higher the number of posts on a given day of the week, the lower the amount of interaction, and vice versa.

The company measured interaction rates by taking the number of likes and comments for a post and dividing it by the number of page likes at the time the post was published.

Momentus found that Thursday brought the highest number of posts, while Saturday brought the lowest and Sunday the second-lowest. However, the highest interaction rates took place on Saturday and Sunday, while the reverse was true for Thursday, which brought up the rear.

This theory proposed by Momentus even works when examining the same pages and posts by time of day, as the research firm found that peak posting times were 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Pacific Standard Time (9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern Standard Time), but the highest interaction rates occurred from 6 p.m.-5 a.m. PST (9 p.m.-8 a.m. EST).

This pattern seems to follow the average person’s schedule — when most folks are not working, they have more time to use Facebook. But that’s just our observation.

Readers, what insights do you have based on the Momentus data?

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Blogging: Analytics, SEO, and Content

Blogging: Analytics, SEO, and ContentWork with the former marketing director at Conde Nast Digital to improve your search rankings, integrate social, and increase traffic to your blog! Starting November 5, Jim Hopkinson will teach you how to analyze KPIs, monetize your blog through ads, sponsorships, and affiliates, and leverage your blog toward a larger platform such as publishing, speaking, or consulting. Register now!