Facebook Allows Users To Turn Off Notifications From Previously Ignored Friends, Groups

Tired of seeing notifications from groups you haven’t checked or posted in for quite some time? Facebook has a way to fix that now. According to sister site Inside Facebook, the site is giving users the ability to turn off notifications from friends and groups with which they haven’t interacted in a while.

Facebook has been tweaking notifications for a while, trying to make sure that users only see the content they’d want to respond to. Notifications from distant friends or groups don’t really do much good.

Some users are seeing this prompt when they click on a notification:

A Facebook spokesperson talked with Inside Facebook about the new feature:

This is part of our efforts to make sure that users are receiving the most meaningful notifications.

While this affects people and groups, it does not affect third-party applictations with which users have connected. Currently, apps with which users have not interacted cannot push notifications after 28 days of inactivity.

Readers: Do you like this change?

Off button image courtesy of Shutterstock.

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Social Media Metrics

Social Media MetricsStarting September 4, work with a social media manager to monitor, measure and optimize your social media efforts! Danielle Brigida will teach you how to sift through web analytics, Facebook Insights, and Twitter mentions to develop a comprehensive reporting and tracking system for your brand. Register now!